Commemorating the centenary of the 1914-1918 Great
Travel Pics remembers.
The clearing at Compiegne did not exist in 1918 when the German train
from Tergnier pulled up alongside the one used by Marshal Foch as his mobile headquarters.
de l'Armistice was laid out in 1922, with a museum building now housing a copy of the
railway carriage used to sign the 1918 Armistice.
Adolf Hitler had the original taken away during World War II.
Fighting on the Western Front ceased at the 11th hour; on the 11th
day, of the 11th month after The Armistice was signed in the forest of
Compiegne in 1918.
Remembrance Sunday - Lest We Forget.
>> December - Their
Name Liveth For Evermore.
Available Online. (UK
By Michel Guntern.
Meta-Travel Community Blogs.